Top University by Category

8.9 Bond University

8.5 Australian National University

8.5 University of Notre Dame

8.5 Australian Defence Force Academy

8.2 Australian Catholic University

8.2 University of Queensland

8.2 Curtin University of Technology

8.2 Swinburne University of Technology

8.2 University of Newcastle

8.1 University of Western Australia

List of all Universities
Australian Capital Territory
New South Wales
Northern Territory
South Australia
Western Australia

Victoria Universities

Swinburne University of Technology
Location: Hawthorn, Victoria

Swinburne University of Technology, informally known simply as Swinburne, was founded in 1908. The university is a public university located in Melbourne, Victoria, and has six campuses in Victoria, and one in Malaysia. Swinburne’s main campus is located in the inner Melbourne suburb of Hawthorn.

University of Melbourne
Location: Melbourne, Victoria

The University of Melbourne or Melbourne Uni as it is informally known, was founded in 1853 and is Australia’s second oldest university. The university is a public university situated in Melbourne, Victoria, with its main campus located in Parkville, north of the Melbourne CBD. The university has a number of other campuses across Victoria.

Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology
Location: Melbourne, Victoria

The Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, also known by the acronym RMIT, is a public university and vocational education provider situated in Melbourne Victoria. The university was founded in 1887 by philanthropist and grazier The Hon. Francis Ormond, making the university the 7th oldest in Australia, and the 3rd oldest higher education institution in Victoria. RMIT has two key branches, RMIT University, which encompasses RMIT TAFE, and RMIT International University.

University of Ballarat
Location: Mount Helen, Victoria

The University of Ballarat, or as it is informally known, UB, is a university located in Ballarat, Victoria. The university is a dual sector university, providing both TAFE and university degree qualifications. University of Ballarat was founded by an Act of the Victorian Parliament in 1994, which gave the Ballarat College of Advanced Education official university status. It then subsequently merged with the Wimmera Institute of TAFE, and the Ballarat School of Mines and Industries (1870), to create a large dual sector university.

La Trobe University
Location: Melbourne, Victoria

La Trobe University, or simply La Trobe, is the 3rd oldest university in Victoria. La Trobe was founded in 1964 by an Act of Parliament. La Trobe has seven campuses in Victoria, and has the distinction of being named after Charles Joseph La Trobe. Charles La Trobe was one of the early colonial leaders in Victoria, undertaking the task of being the first Lieutenant Governor of Victoria from 1851 to 1854 and was also the first Superintendent of the Port Phillip District from 1839 to 1850.

Monash University
Location: Melbourne, Victoria

Monash University, also known simply as Monash, is Australia’s largest university, and is located in Melbourne, Australia. Monash University, a public university, has a student body of over 56,500 students who herald from over 100 countries. This large student body is supported by a staggering 14,900 staff.

Deakin University
Location: Melbourne, Victoria

Deakin University, or simply Deakin, is a public university with campuses in Geelong, Melbourne, and Warrnambool, Victoria. The university was formed in the 1970’s, and is named in honour of Alfred Deakin, the ‘Voice of Federation’, and Australia’s second Prime Minister. Alfred Deakin was the Australian Prime Minister three times between 1903 and 1910.

Victoria University
Location: Footscray, Melbourne, Victoria

Victoria University, or as it is informally known VU, is a dual sector tertiary institution located in Melbourne, Victoria. VU provides both higher education and TAFE qualifications to students in over ten campuses. Victoria University was formed in 1990, but its predecessor institutions can trace their origins back to 1916. VU is one of eight Australian universities to offer both higher education, and TAFE and continuing education to students.