Top University by Category

8.9 Bond University

8.5 Australian National University

8.5 University of Notre Dame

8.5 Australian Defence Force Academy

8.2 Australian Catholic University

8.2 University of Queensland

8.2 Curtin University of Technology

8.2 Swinburne University of Technology

8.2 University of Newcastle

8.1 University of Western Australia

List of all Universities
Australian Capital Territory
New South Wales
Northern Territory
South Australia
Western Australia

Queensland Universities

Bond University
Location: Robina, Queensland

Bond University is the first private university established in Australia in 1987. Bond’s main campus is situated in Robina, Gold Coast Queensland, on a picturesque 49.86 hectares. Bond is unique to other Australian universities as it schedules three semesters each year, starting in January, May, and September. This tri-semester course structure allows a three year degree to be completed in two years without increasing semester workloads.osed of international students from over 80 countries

University of Queensland
Location: Brisbane, Queensland

The University of Queensland, also known informally as UQ was founded in 1909, over 100 years ago, and is the oldest university in Queensland, and fifth in Australia. The university is a public university, and is located in Brisbane. The main campus, St Lucia, is located in the southwest of the Brisbane CBD.  The University of Queensland is a member of the prestigious Australian lobby group ‘Group of Eight’, and the Universitas 21, which is an international network of universities dedicated to research. The university is also colloquially known as a ‘sandstone’ university due to its age, and its membership in the G8.

Queensland University of Technology
Location: Brisbane, Queensland

Queensland University of Technology, informally known as QUT, was founded in 1989, and is located in Brisbane, Queensland. Although QUT was founded in 1989, its predecessor institutions can trace their origins back for 140 years. QUT is one of Australia’s largest universities, with a student body of 39,233 students, 5,000 of which are international students from over 90 countries. This large student body is supported by a full time staff of 3,805, with a student to staff ration of 22 to 5.

University of Sunshine Coast
Location: Sippy Downs, Queensland

The University of the Sunshine Coast, or as it is informally known USC, is a public university located in Queensland on the Sunshine Coast. Its main campus in Sunshine Coast is a 100 hectare flora and fauna reserve which adjoins the Mooloolah River National Park, 100km north of the Brisbane. USC was formed in 1996, initially operating as the Sunshine Coast University College until 1999 when it adopted its current name.

Australian Catholic University
Location: Brisbane, Queensland

Australian Catholic University, or as it is informally known ACU National, is the only public Catholic university in Australia. ACU National was founded in 1991 through the amalgamation of four higher education Catholic Institutes in Queensland and New South Wales.

James Cook University
Location: Townsville, Queensland

James Cook University, informally known as JCU is a public university located on Townsville, Australia. James Cook University was founded in 1970 in Townville, and is the second oldest university in Queensland, and the first tertiary education provider in North Queensland.

University of Southern Queensland
Location: Springfield, Queensland

The University of Southern Queensland, also known as USQ is located in Toowoomba, Queensland.  USQ was formed in 1967 under the name Queensland Institute of Technology. It has since undergone a number of name changes and rebranding, starting in 1971 when it was called Darling Downs Institute of Advanced Education, and then the University College of Southern Queensland in 1990, finally to adopt is current name, USQ, in 1992. The University of Southern Queensland has a large campus in Hervey Bay, which is to the north of Brisbane, and has recently, in 2006, formed a new campus in Springfield, one of the outer suburbs of Brisbane.

Griffith University
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland

Griffith University or simply Griffith is a public university based on the Gold Coast and in Brisbane, Australia.  There are over 37,000 undergraduate students, over 8,800 international students from 119 countries and over 3500 full time staff. Griffith University was formed in 1971 and is named after Sir Samuel Griffith, who was a former Premier of Queensland, and also the Chief Justice of the Queensland Supreme Court, and Chief Justice of Australian High Court. Griffith University has the distinction of being the 9th largest higher education institution in Australia, and its Gold Coast campus is one of the fast growing campuses in Australia.

Central Queensland University
Location: Brisbane, Queensland

Central Queensland University, also known as CQUniversity is located in Rockhampton, Queensland. CQUniversity was established under its current name in 1994, but its origins can be traced back to 1967, when it was called the Queensland institute of Technology. CQUniversity has undergone a number of name changes and rebranding, as the institution changed its name in 1969 to University College of Central Queensland, and again in 1992 to the University of Central Queensland.